No. 66 Lobos Capture 6-1 Win Over Aggies
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/21/2014

LAS CRUCES, N.M. -- The sixty-sixth ranked University of New Mexico women’s tennis team captured a 6-1 win over the New Mexico State Aggies on Friday morning. The match was played earlier than originally scheduled due to expected high winds at the NMSU Tennis Center.

"I was really proud of our effort and discipline today,” head coach Erica Jasper said. “We came out with some of our best energy in doubles and were able to pick up the point quickly which helped us get a good start in singles. New Mexico State has some really good competitors and I thought we handled the pressure well to come out with the win.”

The Lobos (10-6) kicked off the Rio Grande Rivalry match by winning the doubles point. No. 1 doubles team Lizette Blankers and Michaela Bezdickova defeated Denise Van Der ben and Marie-Pier Thiffault to earn their tenth doubles win this season. Freshmen duo Dominique Dulski and Emily Olivier also picked up a doubles victory. 

UNM also took control in singles play taking five of the six singles matches. Bezdickova, Blankers, Dulski, Rachana Bhat, and Meredith Hopson all tallied a win against their NMSU opponent. Bhat extended her singles season record to 7-0. She is the only Lobo that remains undefeated.

Jasper is now 2-0 against the Aggies. The Lobos lost to NMSU three seasons in a row before Jasper's arrival at UNM.

UNM now holds an all-time record of 32-6 against the Aggies.

The Lobos play again on Saturday at 10 a.m. when they square off against the UT- El Paso Miners at the El Paso Tennis Club. Full results will be posted on golobos.com at the end of the match.

Result: UNM def. NMSU, 6-1

Doubles Results:

1)   Bezdickova/Blankers (NM) def. Van Der Ben/Thiffault (NMSU), 8-4

2)   Hopson/Smith (NM) & Alcaraz/Nguyen (NMSU) – UNFINISHED

3)   Dulski/Olivier (NM) def. Witte/Shrivastava (NMSU), 8-1

Singles Results:

1)   Bezdickova (NM) def. Alcaraz (NMSU), 6-0, 6-0

2)   Blankers (NM) def. Nguyen (NMSU), 6-4, 6-3

3)   Shrivastava (NMSU) def. Smith (NM), 7-6 (4), 6-4

4)   Dulski (NM) def. Van Der Ben (NMSU), 6-1, 6-2

5)   Hopson (NM) def. Witte (NMSU), 6-2, 6-4

6)   Bhat (NM) def. Collens (NMSU), 6-6, ret.