Lobo Flashbacks: Franklin's Lobos Run To Mountain West Four-Peat
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/04/2013
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

July 4, 2013

LOBO FLASHBACKS: Lobo Flashbacks is a summer feature of GoLobo.com looking back on special teams, players, games or moments from the 2012-13 University of New Mexico athletic season.

By Richard Stevens - Senior Writer/GoLobos.com

First off, let's quiet the rumor that Joe Franklin had to add another room to the track offices in order to display all the trophies that he and his Lobos have won at New Mexico.

He had to add two rooms.

OK, just kidding. But you can't help but wonder what Franklin does with all that glittery iron. This is getting to be ridiculous - as in pure Lobo cross country domination ridiculous.

The Lobo' two-peat turned into a three-peat and then this past fall morphed into a four-peat as the Lobo men's and women's team combined for their fourth consecutive "combined" Mountain West titles.

Of course, the Franklin women still have bragging rights as they actually ran to their fifth straight crown knocking down the field in Las Vegas. The Lobo men notched their fourth straight title.

It was a day for Lobos on UNLV's Silver Bowl track and it wasn't simply a question of superior Lobo talent. Oh, the Lobos had the best runners that day, but the Lobos also had to show some guts as a number of UNM harriers were battling the flu bug.

The Lobos got the individual iron, too. Lacey Oeding was the Mountain West's women's champion breaking the tape with a 20:49.97 clocking - the fifth fastest time in MW history. The Lobo men got a win from Luke Caldwell at 29:26.70.

"For them to do what they did is really impressive," Franklin said of the two team titles that came from a long run where a flu bug can take a lot of energy out of weary legs, especially down the stretch run.

The Lobo women threw out a 28-point winning margin over Colorado State and the UNM men had a 27-point edge over Air Force. The Lobos had five All-MW runners on the women's side - Oeding, Charlotte Arter, Josephine Moultrie, Shawna Winnegar and Imogen Ainsworth. The men had five, too -- Caldwell, Patrick Zacharias, Elmar Engholm, Adam Bitchell and Sean Stam. Oeding and Caldwell grabbed conference Athlete of the Year honors.

And - of course - Franklin left the track with his fifth consecutive Women's Coach of the Year trophy and his second Men's Coach of the Year award.

Which really does bring up this question: "Where you putting all that iron, Joe?"

Previous Lobo Flashbacks:

Flashback No. 1: Kasey Carrier - UNM's workhorse has a special season
Flashback No. 2: Jeremy Fishbein's Lobos Open Season Ranked No. 2
Flashback No. 3: Lobo Volleyball Stuns Colorado State