Menís Harriers Earn At-Large Bid, Join Women at NCAAs
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  11/16/2013

INDIANAPOLIS — The Division I Men’s and Women’s Track and Field Committee announced the University of New Mexico's men's cross country team has secured an at-large bid into the 2013 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships to be held in Terre Haute, Ind., next Saturday.

The men will join the eighth-ranked women's cross country team at the national championships for the fifth straight year, after the women received an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships by finishing second at the Mountain Region Championships on Friday.

The 11th-ranked Lobo men secured an at-large bid after finishing third in the 10-kilometer race at the regional meet at Schneiter's Riverside Golf Course in Riverside, Utah.

"All a team hopes for is the opportunity to compete for a national championship and we have two that will do that on November 23," UNM head coach Joe Franklin said. 

New Mexico is just one of four schools, along with Colorado, Stanford and Villanova, to send both their men’s and women’s teams to the NCAA Championships each of the last five years from 2009 to 2013.

The women have qualified to the NCAA Championships six years in the row, dating back to 2008.

Overall, this will be the women’s 10th overall appearance at a national championship, counting two trips to the AIWA championships. The Lobos finished 10th in last year, ninth in 2011, fifth in 2010, 13th in 2009 and 18th in 2008 in their string of NCAA appearances under Franklin.

The men's team is making it ninth championship appearance overall and fifth in a row. The men finished 21st last year, 31st in 2011, 16th in 2010 and posted a program-best tie for eighth in 2009.

31 teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large based off of those teams regular-season wins over other institution's squads. Additional individuals from non-qualifying teams earn bids to the national championships, as well.

Indiana State will host the Championships on Saturday, Nov. 23, at Wabash Valley Family Sports Center  in Terre Haute, Ind.. The men’s 10-kilometer race will begin at 10 a.m. MT, followed by the women’s six-kilometer race at 11:15 a.m. MT.