Lobos Sixth in Third Day of MW Championships
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/21/2014

SAN ANTONIO, Texas – New Mexico finished day three of the MW Championships adding 78 points to their 218 overall score putting them in sixth place.

Boise State continues to take the lead with 477 points, San Diego State moved up to second place with 458.50 points, and Nevada remains at third-place with 319 points.

The Lobos placed in another five events today, starting in heat one of Relay A for the 400-yard medley relay. The team of Kaela McKee, Ashley Blanchette, Jorgi Hobson, and Caitlin Gardiner came in fifth place, recording a time of 3:39.29 – a new school record. 

Hobson finished in seventh place overall with a time of 54.56 and swam in the A-finals of the 100-yard butterfly. Samantha Moss came in 17th-place and Abigail Wheeler came in 21st-place in the C-finals of the same event clocking in at 55.68 and 56.42, respectively.

New Mexico’s Monica Dudley, Anna Lengyel, and Heidi Zeiger competed in the 200-yard freestyle. Dudley raced in the B-finals touching the wall at 1:50.39 for 16th place. Lengyel finished at 1:51.29 for 20th place and Zeiger completed the race at 1:53.50 for 23rd place,. Both Lengyle and Zeigler were in the C-finals.

Senior swimmer Ashley Blanchette was the highest finisher in the 100-yard breaststroke as she took third place at 1:01.98 in the A-finals.

The Lobos were represented in the B- and C-finals of the same event. Lindsey Englestead finished in 12th place with a time of 1:03.77 in the B-finals and Kristin Walker took 18th place touching the wall at 1:04.14 in the C-finals.

Two swimmers competed in the final event of the third day of this season’s MW Championships.

UNM’s McKee and Gardiner finished the day off competing in the A- and B-finals of the 100-yard backstroke, respectively. McKee placed in the top eight of the event coming in for fourth place of the A-finals with a time of 53.63. Gardiner finished at 56.20 for 16th-place in the B-finals.

The final day of competition will begin Sunday at 11 a.m. with the 200-yard backstroke preliminary event.