NCAA Indoor Championship Field Set; Four Lobos Slated to Compete
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/05/2014

INDIANAPOLIS — Four University of New Mexico track and field athletes have declared to compete at the 2014 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships March 14-15, the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Track and Field Committee announced Tuesday.

Luke Caldwell, Adam Bitchell, Elmar Engholm and Kendall Spencer are slated to compete at the Albuquerque Convention Center for the Albuquerque- and UNM-hosted NCAA Championships next weekend.

Caldwell, hailing from Betchworth, England, heads to the national championships in the 5,000-meter run with a time of 13 minutes, 42.50 seconds. His mark led the Mountain West in 2014 and ranks sixth in the nation, well within the selection criterion of top 16 in the NCAA.

Bitchell also sported an NCAA-worthy time, and will compete alongside Caldwell in the 5,000. The Aberystwyth, Wales, native enters with the nation's 15th-best 5K time of 13:44.70.

The duo’s times rank third and fourth all-time in MW history, with Caldwell’s school and conference record of 13:40.49 (set in 2013) leading the way.

Engholm is the third Lobo tabbed to compete at the NCAAs, as he takes aim in the mile. The Stockholm product holds a personal-record time of 3:58.90 in the mile, making him the second fastest miler in UNM history behind two-time NCAA mile champion Lee Emanuel. He ranks 12th in the NCAA and led the MW in 2014.

The final men’s athlete to secure a spot was Spencer, the 2012 NCAA champion in the indoor long jump. Spencer's mark of 25 feet, 9 ¼ inches in the long jump ranked seventh in the nation, achieved when he won his third consecutive MW title in the long jump last week.

His personal, school and conference record is 26-3 ½, set at the 2012 NCAA Championships in Nampa, Idaho.

With the four athletes accepting bids for the NCAAs, the Lobos are sending four or more athletes to the indoor championships for the sixth consecutive year, extending the longest streak in program history. The indoor high is eight athletes, reached in 1978 and 2009.

Live results will be available on RecordTiming.com and the meet will be streamed live on ESPN3 on March 14 starting at 5:55 p.m. MT and March 15 starting at 5:50 p.m. MT. A tape delay of the championship will air Saturday, March 22, starting at 4:30 p.m. MT on ESPNU.