Top Collegiate Multi-Event Athletes To Visit Duke City
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  01/23/2007
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics
• Roger\ Cox\ Multis\ Entries

Jan. 23, 2007

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - A national championship caliber heptathlon competition highlights the three days of indoor track & field action this week at the Albuquerque Convention Center. Five multi-event athletes ranked among the top-12 by Trackwire.com will be competing in the Roger Cox Multis heptathlon/pentathlon (Thursday-Friday), with an additional 25 ranked athletes in the field of the Dan DeHart Invitational (Friday-Saturday). Admission is free for all events on Thursday and Friday and tickets will be available at the door on Saturday - $3 for adults, $2 for students and free for ages 5 and under. Live results will be available on www.recordtiming.com.

The Roger Cox Multis men's heptathlon, which begins at 11 a.m. on Thursday and Friday, will feature some of the best all-around athletes in all of collegiate athletics. Defending NCAA Indoor heptathlon champion Donovan Kilmartin (Texas) and defending NCAA Outdoor decathlon champion Jake Arnold (Arizona) will be going head-to-head in a men's field that also includes sixth-ranked Joshua Kinnaman (Arizona State) and No. 12 Kevin Johnson (Colorado State). Junior national champion Shawn Schmidt of Texas will also be competing.

Kilmartin and Arnold are currently ranked No. 2 and No. 4 in the country, respectively. Kilmartin's teammate Trey Hardee, who recorded the collegiate heptathlon record last year in Albuquerque with a score of 6,208 points (Jan. 267-27), was a late scratch from this week's competition. The two multi-event stars have helped the Longhorn men move up to fourth in the Trackwire national power rankings.

The women's pentathlon competition, starting at 10:30 a.m. on Friday, will also feature some outstanding talent, led by defending NCAA pentathlon (indoor) and heptathlon (outdoor) champion Jacquelyn Johnson of Arizona State. Johnson is ranked No. 1 nationally in the pentathlon. Colorado State's Katie Lloyd, the 2006 Mountain West Conference pentathlon and heptathlon champion, will also be among the field. New Mexico's top contender will be sophomore Sandy Fortner, an NCAA provisional qualifier in the heptathlon last spring.

Four top-20 teams will be among the field of the Dan DeHart Invitational, including No. 2 Arizona State, No. 7 Kansas State and 19th-ranked Texas Tech on the women's side. The No. 18 Sun Devils are the only ranked team in the men's competition.

The field events will take center stage on Friday evening (6 p.m. start) and Saturday (10 a.m. start), particularly on the women's side, which features ranked athletes in the high jump (2), pole vault (4), long jump (3), shot put (2) and weight throw (4).

The following is an event-by-event breakdown of the top athletes in each event as ranked by Trackwire.com:

Men's Heptathlon:
No. 2 Donovan Kilmartin (Texas)
No. 4 Jake Arnold (Arizona)
No. 6 Joshua Kinnaman (Arizona State)
No. 12 Kevin Johnson (Colorado State)
Shawn Schmidt (Texas) - Junior National champion

Men's 800m:
No. 9 Zach Glavash (Texas Tech)
David Torrence (Cal) - ranked 10th in the Mile

Men's 3,000m:
David Torrence (Cal) - ranked 10th in the Mile

Men's 60m Hurdles:
No. 7 Marlon Odom (Texas Tech)

Men's High Jump:
No. 3 Scott Sellers (Kansas State)
No. 11 Ivan Diggs (Houston)

Men's Long Jump:
No. 12 Jordan Powell (Arizona)

Men's Shot Put:
No. 2 Ryan Whiting (Arizona State)

Men's Weight Throw:
No. 3 Egor Agafonov (Kansas)

Women's Pentathlon:
No. 1 Jacquelyne Johnson

Women's 60m:
No. 6 Ebonie Floyd (Houston)

Women's 200m:
No. 7 Ebonie Floyd (Houston)

Women's 400m:
Alysia Johnson (Cal) - ranked 3rd in the 800m

Women's 800m:
No. 10 Morgan Bonds (Kansas State)

Women's 4x400m Relay:
No. 12 Arizona State

Women's High Jump:
No. 2 Kaylene Wagner (Kansas State)
No. 11 Elizabeth Patterson (Arizona)
Sharon Day (Cal Poly) - 2005 NCAA high jump champion

Women's Pole Vault:
No. 2 April Kubishta (Arizona State)
No. 4 Kate Sultanova (Kansas)
No. 8 Britany Parker (Kansas)
No. 12 Gabriella Duclos (Arizona)

Women's Long Jump:
No. 2 Candice Mills (Kansas State)
No. 3 Mindi Neely (BYU)
No. 12 Stephanie Garnett (Arizona State)

Women's Shot Put:
No. 2 Sarah Stevens (Arizona State)
No. 4 Jessica Pressley (Arizona State)

Women's Weight Throw:
No. 4 Loren Groves (Kansas State)
No. 5 Jessica Pressley (Arizona State)
No. 8 Laci Heller (Kansas State) Sarah Stevens (Arizona State) - ranked 2nd in the Shot Put