Lobo Senior Erkenbeck Named to All-Nicklaus Team
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/02/2013
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

July 2, 2013

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The celebration of James Erkenbeck’s 2012-13 men’s golf season continues.

The University of New Mexico senior All-America now can add inclusion to the 2013 All-Nicklaus Team to his list of honors from the past season, as voted by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Erkenbeck was one of 24 golfers across the country to earn the award.

The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history’s greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Awards in 1988. The Nicklaus Award is annually given to the top collegiate men’s golfer in Divisions I, II, III, the NAIA and the NJCAA.

Erkenbeck averaged 71.21 strokes per round and finished first in two tournaments last season, including the NCAA Columbus Regional. He was the Mountain West Player of the Year and an All-MW selection.

Erkenbeck also was a PING Division I All-West region honoree and earned a spot on the winning U.S. Palmer Cup team – the Palmer Cup is a collegiate version of the Ryder Cup.

With Erkenbeck aboard, the Lobos won the Mountain West and NCAA Columbus Regional titles and advanced to the eight-team match-play at the NCAA Championships. UNM finished fifth in the event.

The senior from San Diego finished his Lobo career with the second-lowest career strokes-per-round average in school history at 72.25. Only Spencer Levine (70.20), who played two years from 2003-04 to 2004-05 after transferring from UCLA, had a better average.

The 2013 All-Nicklaus Team:

Jake Argento, South Mountain
Daniel Berger, Florida State
Julien Brun, TCU
Alex Carpenter, Abilene Christian
Ricardo Celia, Nova Southeastern
Tim Crouch, Florida Southern
Greg Eason, UCF
James Erkenbeck, New Mexico
Aaron Flores, Our Lady of the Lake
Max Homa, California
Michael Kim, California
Adam Loran, CSU-San Marcos
Anthony Maccaglia, Oglethorpe
Alex Malik, Central Alabama
Felix Moesmang, Western Texas
Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington
Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
Sondre Ronold, Oklahoma City
Ben Seward, South Mountain
Brad Shigezawa, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Brandon Stone, Texas
Ben Taylor, Nova Southeastern
Mike Wesko, Methodist
Cory Whitsett, Alabama