Gavin Green, Glen Millican
Gavin Green, Glen Millican
MW Honors Green, Millican as Player, Coach of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/01/2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – To the Mountain West men’s golf champions go the spoils.

The Mountain West announced Thursday that University of New Mexico junior Gavin Green has been named the conference’s Player of the Year and coach Glen Millican has earned Coach of the Year honors.

Green and fellow junior Victor Perez also were named to the All-Mountain West team.

Green is the second consecutive Lobo to win the award, following James Erkenbeck in 2013. He is the ninth Lobo to earn a conference Player of the Year Award. Green won four events this season, including last week’s Mountain West Championship in a playoff against San Diego State’s Riccardo Michelini.

Green, currently ranked 18th in the nation by Golfstat.com and 27th by Golfweek.com, also won the Tucker Intercollegiate, the Lone Star Invitational and the Western Refining All-America Classic.

For Millican, the coaching honor is his second straight and fourth in his 13 season as UNM’s head coach. Millican, who has guided the Lobos to nine tournament wins over the past two seasons, also earned the Coach of the Year Award in 2003 and 2005.

He is second on the school’s career list with 26 tournament wins, two behind Dick McGuire’s school mark of 28. Millican’s six team conference championships (2003-06, 2013-14) are second to McGuire’s 10 and a MW record.

Perez is a three-time all-conference selection, joining the group of three-time Lobo award winners John Catlin  (2010-, 2012-13), Charlie Beljan (2004-05, 2007), Wil Collins (1999, 2001-02), Doug LaBelle (1996-98), Rob McMillan (1995-97) and Sean Murphy (1986-88).

Perez will have a chance next season to join Tim Herron (1990-93) and Brian Kortan (1990-92, 1994) as the only four-time winners in school history.

The Lobos are preparing for the NCAA Regionals from May 15-17, at a site to be determined on Monday.