Lobos Travel to Compete in Mountain West Tournament
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/23/2013
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 23, 2013

Men's Match Notes 4-25 Get Acrobat Reader

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO. - The U.S. Air Force Academy will serve as host to the 2013 Mountain West Men's and Women's Tennis Championships on April 25-28, 2013, at the USAFA Tennis Facility in Colorado Springs, Colo. This is the second time in Conference history that the MW Tennis Championships will be held in Colorado Springs, as Air Force previously hosted the tournament in 2007.

San Diego State (18-7) won the 2013 MW men's regular season title and is the No. 1 seed at the MW Men's Championship. The Aztecs, ranked No. 40, went undefeated in Conference action with a 6-0 mark. Senior Derek Siddiqui (16-12 overall, 5-1 MW), playing at No. 1 singles and ranked No. 112 in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association national poll, heads up a deep and experienced SDSU team.

Boise State is the defending MW tournament champion. The Broncos (17-9), ranked No. 44 in the nation, enter the 2013 Championship as the No. 2 seed, with a 5-1 record in MW play. They are led by junior Andy Bettles (30-8, 4-2), who is the top-ranked MW men's player this season at No. 30.

San Diego State and New Mexico (the No. 4 seed) have each won the MW Championship three times, while No. 3 UNLV (16-6) won the title in 2007.

The winners of the Mountain West Men's and Women's Championships receive the Conference's automatic bids to their respective NCAA tournaments.

Thursday, April 25
10 a.m. MT First Round Match #1 No. 4 New Mexico vs. No. 5 Fresno State
2 p.m. MT First Round Match #2 No. 3 UNLV vs. No. 6 Nevada
2 p.m. MT First Round Match #3 No. 2 Boise State vs. No. 7 Air Force
Saturday, April 27
2 p.m. MT Semifinal Match #1 No. 1 San Diego State vs. UNM/FS Winner
2 p.m. MT Semifinal Match #2 UNLV/NEV Winner vs. BSU/AFA Winner
Sunday, April 28
2 p.m. MT Championship Match