Seven Lobos Claim Academic Honors
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/08/2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – Seven student-athletes on the University of New Mexico men’s tennis team were recognized for their academic success this week as the Mountain West announced Academic-All Conference and MW Scholar Athlete honorees.

Mads Hegelund, James Hignett, Samir Iftikhar, Rodolfo Jauregui, Mitchell McDaniels, and Hayden Sabatka were all named to the 2014 Spring Academic All-Conference team for their success during the 2014 season. To be eligible for this award the student-athlete must have completed at least one academic semester/quarter at the member institution, have a cumulative grade-point-average, at the member institution, of 3.0 or better, and competed in 50 percent of the team’s varsity contests.

Hegelund, who received the Academic All-Conference honor for the third time in his career, graduated from UNM in May with an impressive 3.92 GPA.

Additionally, Hegelund, Hignett, Iftikhar, Sabatka, and Bryan Cunningham were all named MW Scholar-Athletes. This award is given to student-athletes who finished the semester with a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.5 or better.

UNM had the most student athletes named to the MW Academic All-Conference list than any other school. The Lobos accounted for 124 of the 897 honorees.