LoboTV
stop
Final RPI Puts Lobos on top of MW
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/30/2013

July 30, 2013

Get Your Lobo Pride Pass Today!

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The final official NCAA RPI rankings came out for the 2013 baseball season, and to no surprise the University of New Mexico Lobos ranked at the top of the Mountain West. Coming in at No. 60 overall, the Lobos outpaced UNLV (No. 84), fellow NCAA tournament participant San Diego St. (No. 97), Fresno St. (213), Nevada (214) and Air Force (256).

It should be no surprise that UNM produced the best RPI since it won a league-record 25 games this season and all 10 conference series on its way to winning the MW by a full seven games, which was another league record.

But the Lobos also ranked higher than numerous highly successful programs. Below is a list of schools that UNM finished ahead of in 2013:

Stanford (No. 63) – 16 College World Series appearances, two national titles, No. 1 overall pick in 2013 MLB draft (Mark Appel)

Texas (No. 74) – 34 CWS appearances, six national titles, including the 2005 national championship

Long Beach St. (No. 75) – four CWS appearances, and where current MLB All-Stars Evan Longoria, Troy Tulowitzki and Jered Weaver all played collegiate ball

Baylor (No.76) – three CWS appearances

Texas Tech (No. 102)

TCU (No. 106) – one CWS appearances in 2010 and former MW rival

Minnesota (No. 109) – five CWS appearances, three national titles

California (No. 116) – six CWS appearances, two national titles

Southern Cal (No. 120) – 21 CWS appearances, 12 national titles, home of several current and former Major Leaguers including Barry Zito, Mark McGuire, Randy Johnson, Tom Seaver, Fred Lynn and Bret and Aaron Boone

New Mexico St. (No. 165)

Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News