LoboTV
stop
Peterson Named Louisville Slugger 2013 Hitter of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  08/16/2013

Aug 16, 2013

2013 Louisville Slugger All-America Teams Get Acrobat Reader

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – He may be playing professional ball at this point, but DJ Peterson earned one last All-America honor Friday as CollegeBaseballInsider.com and Louisville Slugger named him a first-team All-American.

Additionally, CBI also named him the Louisville Slugger Hitter of the Year. Mitch Garver earned honorable mention All-America honors.

Peterson, who became the Lobos’ highest ever draft pick when he was taken 12th overall by the Seattle Mariners following the season, won the Mountain West triple crown for the second straight season, hitting .408 with 18 homers and 72 RBI. He was second in the nation in slugging (.807) and total bases (176) and led the country with a .520 on-base average in being named the Mountain West Co-Player of the Year with Garver for the second straight year.

Peterson helped the Lobos to the Fullerton Regional of the NCAA Tournament. He failed to reach base in only one game all season. After beginning his career at low-A Everett, he was quickly promoted and is now playing in A-ball for the Clinton Lumberkings. Over the two levels he is hitting .299 with 12 home runs and 41 RBI in 49 games. He has nine doubles, one triple and is slugging .551.

In 42 games for the Elizabethton Twins in the Appalachian League, Garver has 10 doubles, two triples, two home runs and 20 RBI. A recent slump has dropped his average to .245.

Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News