LoboTV
stop
Jered Meek played third base for the Silver team as a freshman last season.
Jered Meek played third base...
Cherry-Silver Series Set for Lobo Field
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  10/30/2013

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The University of New Mexico baseball team is wrapping up its fall practice schedule in the usual manner, with the intrasquad Cherry-Silver Series to take place from Sunday, Nov. 3 through Thursday, Nov. 7. The event is free and open to the public.

This year there will be a new addition to the series, though: lights. The lights for Lobo Field are expected to be fully operational in time for game one of the series, which will be Sunday at 1 p.m. The rest of the schedule is as follows:

Monday, Nov. 4 at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 5 at 2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 6 at 2:30 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 7 at 7 p.m.

UNM is coming off a fourth straight NCAA appearance in 2013 as it went 37-22 and, with a 25-5 mark in conference, won the Mountain West regular-season title by a record seven games. Head coach Ray Birmingham lost a lot of talent from last year’s squad as a UNM record seven players were selected in last June’s Major League Baseball Draft, but this year’s squad is still talented.

Returners include Freshman All-American second baseman Sam Haggerty, starting pitcher Josh Walker, who owns the all-time highest winning percentage in UNM history, and All-MW performer Alex Real, and outfielder Chase Harris, whom the coaching staff believes has a chance to be MW Player of the Year in 2014.

The Series will be best-of-five as Birmingham and assistants Ken Jacome, Dan Spencer and Matt Hibbitts, evaluate the incoming and returning talent in order to once again create a championship roster.

Thursday, April 17
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Friday, April 18
TBA - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
4:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť St.
Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
E-News