LoboTV
A Second Look: Pustay's Day
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/30/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

July 30, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. –John Pustay, a sophomore outfielder for the University of New Mexico, grew up in Colorado Springs, Colo., so it was a bit of a homecoming when the Lobos traveled there to play Air Force in early April.

As it turns out, Pustay likes playing at home.

In the opening game of the series on April 5, he tied a UNM record by recording six hits. He was only the eighth Lobo ever with that many in a game and the first since Justin Howard performed the feat against Coppin St. on April 18, 2010.

Pustay got his big day started in the second inning with an RBI single. In the fourth, he started a two-run rally with a double to center field. In the next inning the lefty went the other way and homered down the left field line on a 1-2 pitch. During the Lobos’ six-run sixth inning he chipped in with another RBI single, and added a two-run single in the Lobos’ five-run seventh. He completed his performance with yet another single in the ninth.

Pustay finished the day 6-for-6 with a double, a home run, four runs scored and five RBIs as the Lobos won 19-0. He was one of only four Lobos to record five RBIs in a game in 2012.

As good as that day was, though, he wasn’t finished. The next day, during a 17-2 victory, he went 2-for-5 with another home run, two runs scored and four RBIs. He finished the series with a 1-for-3 performance on Sunday. On the weekend he went 9-for-14 (.643) with a double, two home runs, six runs and nine RBIs.

But it was his record-tying performance that made the history books, and it was yet another highlight in UNM’s fantastic 2012 season.

Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Wednesday, May 21
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
Thursday, May 22
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News