LoboTV
0
0
0
0
Gera Sanchez Signs With Houston Astros
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/13/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

July 13, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Good things come to those who wait. A little more than a month after going undrafted in the MLB Draft, former University of New Mexico pitcher Gera Sanchez has signed with the Houston Astros. He is the second Lobo pitcher to sign a professional contract in 2012. Austin House signed with the Oakland A's in June after getting drafted in the 14th round.

"I'm excited," Sanchez said. "The (scout) for the Astros called (UNM head coach Ray Birmingham) and talked to him. Then the Astros called me and asked, 'How would you like to play for the Astros?' And I was like, 'Cool!' It's very exciting."

Sanchez will report to the Astros' spring training complex in Kissimmee, Fla., on Sunday before learning which minor league affiliate he will be sent to.

"This is well-deserved," Birmingham said. "He'll be a great pitcher for them. Mike Brown is a veteran scout and a guy that knows Gera's potential."

Sanchez, a native of Las Cruces, N.M., began the 2012 season as UNM's closer and set the all-time school save record before moving into the starting rotation on April 7. He formed one-third of UNM's first all-New Mexico weekend rotation with House (Albuquerque) and Josh Walker (Rio Rancho).

Sanchez led the Lobos with 95 strikeouts in only 78 1/3 innings and held opposing batters to a team-low .224 batting average. He finished his Lobo career tied for sixth in appearances with 62.

The Lobos have now had 18 players sign a professional contract in the past five years.

Friday, May 01
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, May 02
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Sunday, May 03
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
Thursday, May 14
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Friday, May 15
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Saturday, May 16
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, May 20
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News