LoboTV
DJ Peterson Earns Fifth All-American Honor
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/06/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

July 6, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - University of New Mexico third baseman DJ Peterson earned yet another All-American honor for his spectacular 2012 season Friday when CollegeBaseballInsider.com named him to its first team. This is the fifth All-American award for the Lobo star this year. Teammate Mitchell Garver earned honorable mention status at catcher.

Peterson, who won the Mountain West overall Triple Crown with a .419 average, 17 home runs, and 78 RBIs, was also named a first team All-American by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, Collegiate Baseball newspaper, and the American Baseball Coaches Association. He earned second team All-American honors from Baseball America. He was named both a Golden Spikes Award semifinalist and a Dick Howser Trophy semifinalist.

The product of Gilbert, Ariz., is also a member of USA Baseball's Collegiate National Team, which is currently playing in Cuba and will travel to the Netherlands for an international tournament later this summer. He is hitting .333 for Team USA with two doubles, a home run, eight runs, and a team-leading seven RBIs in six games.

Garver, who shared Mountain West Player of the Year honors with Peterson, hit .377 with 10 home runs and 57 RBIs and led the Lobos with 68 runs and 27 doubles. The Albuquerque-native also led all Division I catchers during the regular season in hits, batting average, runs, total bases, and tied for the lead in doubles. He was named a third team All-American by the NCBWA, a second team All-American by Collegiate Baseball and was one of three finalists for the Johnny Bench Award.

The formidable duo helped lead UNM to a 37-24 record this season as the Lobos won their first regular-season Mountain West championship since 2000, their second straight Mountain West Tournament championship, and made their third consecutive NCAA postseason appearance.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News