LoboTV
Record-Tying Six Lobos Named MW Scholar-Athletes
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  06/24/2013
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

June 24, 2013

2012-13 Mountain West Scholar-Athletes Get Acrobat Reader

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Four days after having a program-record 16 student-athletes named Academic All-Mountain West, the University of New Mexico baseball team had six members named Mountain West Scholar-Athletes the conference announced Monday, which ties the 2007 squad for most in a single season.

The MW Scholar-Athlete Award is one of the highest academic honors bestowed by the conference. To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least two academic terms at the member institution, while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better, and have participated in varsity competition in an NCAA-sponsored sport.

Kevin Baumgartner, Drew Bridges, A.J. Carman, Alex Estrella, Sam Haggerty and Josh Melendez were the ones honored. Estrella, whose 4.11 cumulative GPA leads the team, and Melendez were both also named a Scholar-Athlete in 2012, while Baumgartner, Bridges, Carman and Haggerty were all first-year players under head coach Ray Birmingham.

No other baseball team in the MW had more Scholar-Athletes than the Lobos as they finished tied for first with Fresno St. with six apiece. Overall, UNM led the conference for the second straight year as 132 Lobos were named Scholar-Athletes. Wyoming was a distant second with 78. The MW as a whole had a record 623 student-athletes recognized, a conference record.

Saturday, April 19
11 - 6 (W)
Baseball
at San JosÚ St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News