LoboTV
Will Mathis Named Texas Collegiate League Pitcher of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  08/01/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Aug. 1, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - University of New Mexico pitcher Will Mathis earned his first Texas Collegiate League Pitcher of the Week award after a superb and uncommon outing. It’s not often pitchers throw nine innings in summer collegiate ball, but Mathis went a step further than that.

Facing the East Texas Pump Jacks on July 25, the left-hander delivered the longest outing in the TCL this season, tossing 10 shutout innings, allowing just four hits and two walks while striking out eight. Even stranger, the rising senior picked up neither the win nor the complete game, as Acadiana and East Texas took their scoreless tie into the eleventh inning before the Cane Cutters triumphed, 1-0.

A native of Carlsbad, N.M., Mathis has a 2-3 record in eight starts for the Cane Cutters this summer. He has hurled 51 1/3 innings and struck out 37. Last season for the Lobos Mathis made 16 relief appearances and one start on the mound. He had a 2-1 record and a 5.40 ERA in 20 innings. He struck out 22, walked only nine batters, and did not allow a home run. His best outing came against Arizona State on April 10 when he went three innings, allowed only one run and struck out a career-high six batters.

Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News