LoboTV
Will Mathis Named Texas Collegiate League Pitcher of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  08/01/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Aug. 1, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - University of New Mexico pitcher Will Mathis earned his first Texas Collegiate League Pitcher of the Week award after a superb and uncommon outing. It’s not often pitchers throw nine innings in summer collegiate ball, but Mathis went a step further than that.

Facing the East Texas Pump Jacks on July 25, the left-hander delivered the longest outing in the TCL this season, tossing 10 shutout innings, allowing just four hits and two walks while striking out eight. Even stranger, the rising senior picked up neither the win nor the complete game, as Acadiana and East Texas took their scoreless tie into the eleventh inning before the Cane Cutters triumphed, 1-0.

A native of Carlsbad, N.M., Mathis has a 2-3 record in eight starts for the Cane Cutters this summer. He has hurled 51 1/3 innings and struck out 37. Last season for the Lobos Mathis made 16 relief appearances and one start on the mound. He had a 2-1 record and a 5.40 ERA in 20 innings. He struck out 22, walked only nine batters, and did not allow a home run. His best outing came against Arizona State on April 10 when he went three innings, allowed only one run and struck out a career-high six batters.

Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San José St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News