LoboTV
Baseball America Names DJ Peterson First Team All-American
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  06/12/2013
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

June 12, 2013

Peterson's Freshman Feature (2011)

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Two more All-America teams were released Wednesday, and DJ Peterson was on both. Baseball America named him to its first team, while the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association placed him on its second team. That brings Peterson's All-America honors to three this season after he was named a Louisville Slugger First Team All-American earlier this month.

Peterson, who became UNM's highest ever draft pick last week when he was selected 12th overall by the Seattle Mariners, hit .408 with 18 home runs and 72 RBI this year. He was named Co-Mountain West Player of the Year and a semifinalist for both the Golden Spikes Award and the Dick Howser Trophy.

"He's one of the greatest Lobos of all-time," UNM head coach Ray Birmingham said.

Peterson finished the season with the NCAA's leading on base percentage (.520) and was among the national leaders in numerous other categories: runs per game (second, 1.24), RBI per game (second, 1.31), slugging (second, .807), total bases (second, 176), home runs (third, 18), RBI (fourth, 72), batting (fourth, .408) and runs (seventh, 68).

He finished his Lobo career tied for the most doubles in UNM history with 78 on his way to being the school's first three-time All-American. He also finished third in total bases (492), fourth in home runs (41) and slugging (.691) and tied for fourth in RBI (198).

Update: On Thursday, June 13 PerfectGame.org named Peterson a first team All-American as well. He has now been honored by four publications with three first team selections and one second team.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News