LoboTV
Baseball America Names DJ Peterson First Team All-American
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  06/12/2013
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

June 12, 2013

Peterson's Freshman Feature (2011)

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Two more All-America teams were released Wednesday, and DJ Peterson was on both. Baseball America named him to its first team, while the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association placed him on its second team. That brings Peterson's All-America honors to three this season after he was named a Louisville Slugger First Team All-American earlier this month.

Peterson, who became UNM's highest ever draft pick last week when he was selected 12th overall by the Seattle Mariners, hit .408 with 18 home runs and 72 RBI this year. He was named Co-Mountain West Player of the Year and a semifinalist for both the Golden Spikes Award and the Dick Howser Trophy.

"He's one of the greatest Lobos of all-time," UNM head coach Ray Birmingham said.

Peterson finished the season with the NCAA's leading on base percentage (.520) and was among the national leaders in numerous other categories: runs per game (second, 1.24), RBI per game (second, 1.31), slugging (second, .807), total bases (second, 176), home runs (third, 18), RBI (fourth, 72), batting (fourth, .408) and runs (seventh, 68).

He finished his Lobo career tied for the most doubles in UNM history with 78 on his way to being the school's first three-time All-American. He also finished third in total bases (492), fourth in home runs (41) and slugging (.691) and tied for fourth in RBI (198).

Update: On Thursday, June 13 PerfectGame.org named Peterson a first team All-American as well. He has now been honored by four publications with three first team selections and one second team.

Thursday, April 17
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San JosÚ St.
Friday, April 18
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San JosÚ St.
Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San JosÚ St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News