LoboTV
0
0
0
0
stop
Final RPI Puts Lobos on top of MW
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/30/2013

July 30, 2013

Get Your Lobo Pride Pass Today!

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The final official NCAA RPI rankings came out for the 2013 baseball season, and to no surprise the University of New Mexico Lobos ranked at the top of the Mountain West. Coming in at No. 60 overall, the Lobos outpaced UNLV (No. 84), fellow NCAA tournament participant San Diego St. (No. 97), Fresno St. (213), Nevada (214) and Air Force (256).

It should be no surprise that UNM produced the best RPI since it won a league-record 25 games this season and all 10 conference series on its way to winning the MW by a full seven games, which was another league record.

But the Lobos also ranked higher than numerous highly successful programs. Below is a list of schools that UNM finished ahead of in 2013:

Stanford (No. 63) – 16 College World Series appearances, two national titles, No. 1 overall pick in 2013 MLB draft (Mark Appel)

Texas (No. 74) – 34 CWS appearances, six national titles, including the 2005 national championship

Long Beach St. (No. 75) – four CWS appearances, and where current MLB All-Stars Evan Longoria, Troy Tulowitzki and Jered Weaver all played collegiate ball

Baylor (No.76) – three CWS appearances

Texas Tech (No. 102)

TCU (No. 106) – one CWS appearances in 2010 and former MW rival

Minnesota (No. 109) – five CWS appearances, three national titles

California (No. 116) – six CWS appearances, two national titles

Southern Cal (No. 120) – 21 CWS appearances, 12 national titles, home of several current and former Major Leaguers including Barry Zito, Mark McGuire, Randy Johnson, Tom Seaver, Fred Lynn and Bret and Aaron Boone

New Mexico St. (No. 165)

Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Tuesday, April 21
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:30 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Saturday, April 25
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Friday, May 01
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, May 02
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Sunday, May 03
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
Thursday, May 14
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Friday, May 15
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
E-News