LoboTV
stop
Peterson Named Louisville Slugger 2013 Hitter of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  08/16/2013

Aug 16, 2013

2013 Louisville Slugger All-America Teams Get Acrobat Reader

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – He may be playing professional ball at this point, but DJ Peterson earned one last All-America honor Friday as CollegeBaseballInsider.com and Louisville Slugger named him a first-team All-American.

Additionally, CBI also named him the Louisville Slugger Hitter of the Year. Mitch Garver earned honorable mention All-America honors.

Peterson, who became the Lobos’ highest ever draft pick when he was taken 12th overall by the Seattle Mariners following the season, won the Mountain West triple crown for the second straight season, hitting .408 with 18 homers and 72 RBI. He was second in the nation in slugging (.807) and total bases (176) and led the country with a .520 on-base average in being named the Mountain West Co-Player of the Year with Garver for the second straight year.

Peterson helped the Lobos to the Fullerton Regional of the NCAA Tournament. He failed to reach base in only one game all season. After beginning his career at low-A Everett, he was quickly promoted and is now playing in A-ball for the Clinton Lumberkings. Over the two levels he is hitting .299 with 12 home runs and 41 RBI in 49 games. He has nine doubles, one triple and is slugging .551.

In 42 games for the Elizabethton Twins in the Appalachian League, Garver has 10 doubles, two triples, two home runs and 20 RBI. A recent slump has dropped his average to .245.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News