LoboTV
stop
Baseball America Names UNM Team to Beat in MW
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/07/2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Last season the University of New Mexico baseball team was the overwhelming favorite to win the Mountain West, which it did convincingly by a conference-record seven games. After losing a school-record seven players to the MLB Draft last June there is more uncertainty about this year's squad, but not enough for Baseball America to not pick the Lobos to repeat as champs.

In its annual conference preview the publication tabbed the Lobos as the "Team to Beat" in the MW. BA predicts a big bounce-back season for Ryan Padila, as well as good years from Chase Harris, Alex Real, Josh Walker and the middle infield combo of Jared Holley and 2013 Freshman All-American Sam Haggerty.

Also, College Sports Madness released its 2014 Preseason All-Mountain West Team Friday, and Walker was tabbed as the Pitcher of the Year and head coach Ray Birmingham as the Coach of the Year.

Joining Walker on the first team are Real, Harris and Padilla, while sophomore right-handed pitcher Drew Bridges was named to the second team.

UNM opens its season on the road at the University of San Diego next Friday, Feb. 14 for three games, stops for a game at Arizona St. and then has its home opener against Northern Ilinois on Friday, Feb. 21 at 4 p.m. in the Lobo Invite.

Fans are reminded that the Lobo Pride Pass is on sale now. For just $50 fans can gain entry to all home Lobo baseball and softball games this season. You can purchase one online, by visiting the Lobo Ticket Office in The Pit or by calling the ticket office at 925-LOBO.

Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Wednesday, May 21
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News