LoboTV
stop
Harris Named Mountain West Player of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/24/2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - UNM senior right fielder Chase Harris was named Mountain West Player of the Week for games played March 17-23 after he hit .526 (10-for-19) with seven runs and eight RBIs as UNM went 4-1 in games against No. 18 Kansas and San Jose State.

"It's certainly an honor," Harris said. "I'm glad I could help my team and have a good week. I've been working hard and it was nice to see some of that work pay off."

Harris' hot week got off to a bit of a slow start in UNM's 6-3 win over the Jayhawks on Tuesday, March 18, as he went 1-for-4 with a run, but he followed that up with a 2-for-3 outing with a walk, two runs and an RBI as the Lobos earned a midweek sweep of Kansas with a 10-4 victory. He also threw a runner out at the plate for the second time this season.

In UNM's weekend series against San Jose State, Harris went 1-for-3 with two RBIs, three runs and a walk as the Lobos defeated the Spartans 10-1. In UNM's lone loss of the week, Harris did all he could with a 3-for-5, two-RBI performance. In the series finale, he helped UNM's offense get on track with a two-run, first-inning homer, which was his third long fly of the season. He also added a sacrifice fly in the second as the Lobos jumped out to a 5-0 lead against SJSU's ace. He finished 3-for-4 with a run and three RBIs as UNM moved into sole possession of second place in the Mountain West with a 9-4 victory.

Harris finished the week with a .542 OBP and he slugged .684 while striking out only once in 24 plate appearances.

His is the third MW weekly award earned by a Lobo this season. Josh Walker was named MW Pitcher of the Week after shutting out the Missouri State Bears on Feb. 23, and Victor Sanchez earned the same honor last week after earning a win and a save in UNM's road sweep of Fresno State.

The Lobos travel to Las Cruces, N.M., for a game against Rio Grande Rival New Mexico State on Tuesday at 3:05 p.m.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News