LoboTV
stop
Fog Halts Lobos' Opener in Third Inning
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/14/2014

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The University of New Mexico baseball team hoped to earn its first win of the season in its opening game Friday night at the University of San Diego.

Mother Nature had other ideas, however.

Heavy fog forced a halt in play in the bottom of the third inning with the game tied 2-2.

The Toreros opened the scoring in the first on an infield single, a wild pitch and a single to center to jump out to an early 1-0 lead off UNM starter Drew Bridges.

A miscue by San Diego's defense helped UNM take its first lead. With two outs in the third Sam Haggerty reached on an error by the Torero's second baseman. Chase Harris then made them pay.

After spending the majority of 2013 as the Lobos' leadoff hitter, the senior has moved to third in the lineup to better take advantage of his power. He showed it off by smacking a two-run homer to left center.

UNM's 2-1 lead was short-lived, though, as USD tied the game on a one-out double in the bottom of the frame, immediately before play was halted.

The teams will pick up where they left off at 1:35 p.m. MT on Saturday and proceed to complete the first game before playing the second game at 5:05 p.m. MT. Both games will be broadcast on Fox Sports San Diego, which is channel 694 on DirecTV and 408 on Dish Network.

Sunday, March 01
10:30 AM -
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley vs. San Francisco
1:30 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
E-News