LoboTV
stop
Lobos Fall to Toreros in Series Finale
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/16/2014

SAN DIEGO, Calif. – Some days everything seems to go wrong for your team and everything goes right for the other team, and that’s the way it was for the Lobos at the University of San Diego Sunday afternoon.

UNM (1-2) suffered a 17-2 defeat at the hands of the Toreros (2-1) to close out its first series of the season. USD jumped out to a quick 3-0 lead in the first, was up 7-0 after two innings and the Lobos could never get back into it.

UNM scored in the sixth when a two-out double by Aaron Siple knocked home freshman Kirby McGuire. Siple, McGuire and Chase Harris each finished with two hits to lead the Lobos. Sam Haggerty and Ryan Padilla recorded the other hits for New Mexico.

The Lobos got their other run in the ninth. Freshman Cody Bower out of St. Pius recorded his first career hit as a pinch hitter with one out. Two batters later Lane Milligan also got his first career hit on a bloop single to left. John Pustay then followed with an RBI-single.

The Lobos make a stop on their way home to face Arizona St. in Tempe Tuesday evening at 6:30. The game will be streamed live, and fans can find the link on GoLobos. UNM will then return to Albuquerque for its home opener against Northern Illinois in the Lobo Invite at 4 p.m. on Friday.

Notes: Three more Lobos saw their intercollegiate debut Sunday, Mike Gould, Conner Rusch and Preston Ryan, bringing the total to 13 UNM players who got their first taste of D-1 baseball in San Diego … Cody Bower recorded his first career hit as a pinch hitter in the ninth, and Lane Milligan added his first career hit later in the inning … it was UNM’s most lopsided loss since May 9, 2010, when the Lobos lost 26-4 to TCU.

Sunday, March 01
10:30 AM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley vs. San Francisco
1:30 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
E-News