Bairstow Named to Robertson Award Midseason List
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  01/23/2014

St. Louis, Mo. --- Senior forward Cameron Bairstow was one of 23 players named to the Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.  Members of the association's board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

The announcement comes one day after Bairstow was one of 25 players selected to the John Wood Award Midseason Watch List.  That award is sponsored by the Los Angeles Athletic Club.  Bairstow is one of two Mountain West players on the Robertson list, joined by San Diego State’s Xavier Thames.

Bairstow is one of 18 players that are on both midseason lists for national player of the year.  Joining him on both lists are Keith Appling (Michigan State), Cleananthony Early (Wichita State), Tyler Ennis (Syracuse)C.J. Fair (Syracuse), Aaron Gordon (Arizona), Rodney Hood (Duke), Nick Johnson (Arizona), DeAndre Kane (Iowa State), Doug McDermott (Creighton), Shabazz Napier (Connecticut), Jabari Parker (Duke), Casey Prather (Florida), Julius Randle (Kentucky), Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State), Russ Smith (Louisville), Andrew Wiggins (Kansas), Chaz Williams (Massachusetts).

The USBWA will announce its 2014 All-America Team in mid-March. At that time, finalists will also be chosen for the player of the year. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

Bairstow is the leading New Mexico in scoring at 20.3 points per game and is one of five players nationally that are averaging over 20 points per game that averaged in single digits last year.  After never scoring more than 17 points in any game in his first three seasons, he has turned in 11 20-point games this year, including scoring 29 twice.  He leads the Mountain West in field goal percentage, and he is UNM’s leading scorer and he is first or second in scoring, field goal percentage, free throw percentage, blocks, assists and steals.