Bairstow, Williams Named First Team All-Mountain West
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/10/2014

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO. --- Kendall Williams was named First Team All-Conference for the second consecutive year, alongside teammate Cameron Bairstow, as the Mountain West released the 2014 postseason awards.

Joining Williams and Bairstow was junior center Alex Kirk, who was named Third Team All-Conference, and Hugh Greenwood who received honorable mention honors for the season straight season.

Bairstow, the conference’s leading scorer and the only player in the Mountain West that is a national Player of the Year finalist (for the USBWA’s Robertson Award), lost out the conference Player of the Year award to Xavier Thames.  While Bairstow’s was the conference’s leading scorer, SDSU won the regular season title on the final day of the season, and in the 15 year history of the Mountain West, the Player of the Year has come from the team that won the regular season title, including a current streak of 11 straight.

It doesn’t diminish what Bairstow has done, however, in which he has had a breakout season.  Bairstow more than doubled his career points this season, leading the Mountain West in scoring at 20.4 points per game and in field goal percentage (where in conference play he was the only player over 50% at .576 as his teammate Alex Kirk was at .500).

His scoring average was the fifth-highest scoring average in the history of the conference, and his 368 points was the third-most in conference history.  He is the first Lobo to ever lead the league in field goal percentage. 

He also ranked 11th in rebounding in the conference as well as sixth in blocked shots and 10th in defensive rebounding.

He certainly was the league’s most consistent player, never scoring fewer than 14 points in any game over the 18 game-schedule with a season-high of 29 coming against Colorado State in a game where UNM played without Alex Kirk.  He had four double-doubles on the year, and he shot under 50% just three times, two of those by just one field goal.  His scoring average dipped below 20 points per game just once, when it went to 19.7 after the third game of the year, and he had 11 20-point games.

Joining him on the first team was Kendall Williams, who became the fourth player in school history to earn back-to-back First Team All-Mountain West honors, and the first since Dairese Gary did the trick in 2010 and 2011.  The others were Danny Granger in 2004 and 2005, and Ruben Douglas in 2002 and 2003.  Douglas, like Williams, was a three-time honoree as a Second Team All-Mountain West selection as well.

Williams finished seventh in scoring, fifth in three-point percentage, second in steals, second in assists, and second in asst/turnover ratio.  He also was the first play in school history to record a double-double in scoring and assists with no turnovers, and he was the only player in the league with three different games of nine or more assists and one or fewer turnovers.

Williams was also named to the league’s six-man All-Defensive Team, along with teammate Alex Kirk.  Kirk, who was second in the league in blocks and seventh in rebounding, is the first two-time back-to-back All-Defensive Team member since Dairese Gary in 2009 and 2010.  It marks the first time that the Lobos have had two players on the all-defensive team, and it makes sense.  The defensive unit allowed just 63.2 points per game, and finished the year holding 12 straight opponents under its scoring average.  Also, the team has held the last six opponents under 60 points for the longest streak since the 1964-65 season, and all six of those have been held at least 12 points under its average.

Rounding out the honors for UNM was junior guard Hugh Greenwood, who was named Honorable Mention for the second straight season.

The Lobos will open up defense of their back-to-back Mountain West Tournament championships starting Thursday night at 7 p.m. Mountain Time at the Thomas & Mack Center against either 7-seed Fresno State or 10-seed Air Force.

NOTES:  Williams and Kirk were two of four repeat selections, joining Deonte Burton of Nevada and Anthony Drmic of Boise State … it’s only the second time in the last seven seasons UNM was shut out of the major “of the Year” awards, but the last time was in 2012 when UNM was the 2-seed in the tournament.  They are again the 2-seed this year … New Mexico was the only team with three players on among the three teams.

(Selected by media and head coaches)
First-Team All-Mountain West
Name, Team Cl. Pos. Ht. Wt. City, State
Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico Sr. F 6-9 250 Brisbane, Australia
Deonte Burton, Nevada* Sr. G 6-1 190 Los Angeles, Calif.
Kendall Williams, New Mexico** Sr. G 6-4 180 Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Xavier Thames, San Diego State Sr. G 6-3 195 Sacramento, Calif.
Larry Nance Jr., Wyoming Jr. F 6-8 225 Akron, Ohio
Second-Team All-Mountain West
Name, Team Cl. Pos. Ht. Wt. City, State
Anthony Drmic, Boise State* Jr. G/F 6-6 196 Endeavor Hills, Victoria
Ryan Watkins, Boise State Sr. F 6-9 229 Canyon Country, Calif.
Daniel Bejarano, Colorado State Jr. G 6-4 202 Phoenix, Ariz.
Tyler Johnson, Fresno State Sr. G 6-4 186 Mountain View, Calif.
Khem Birch, UNLV Jr. F 6-9 220 Montreal, Quebec
Third-Team All-Mountain West
Name, Team Cl. Pos. Ht. Wt. City, State
Tre' Coggins, Air Force So. G 6-2 185 San Juan Capistrano, Calif.
J.J. Avila, Colorado State Jr. F 6-7 246 McAllen, Texas
Alex Kirk, New Mexico* Jr. C 7-0 250 Los Alamos, N.M.
Josh Davis, San Diego State Sr. F 6-8 215 Raleigh, N.C.
Bryce Dejean-Jones, UNLV Jr. G 6-5 210 Los Angeles, Calif.
All-Defensive Team
Name, Team Cl. Pos. Ht. Wt. City, State
Alex Kirk, New Mexico Jr. C 7-0 250 Los Alamos, N.M.
Kendall Williams, New Mexico Sr. G 6-4 180 Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Skylar Spencer, San Diego State So. F 6-10 235 Inglewood, Calif.
Xavier Thames, San Diego State Sr. G 6-3 195 Sacramento, Calif.
Khem Birch, UNLV Jr. F 6-9 220 Montreal, Quebec
Larry Nance Jr., Wyoming Jr. F 6-8 225 Akron, Ohio
Honorable Mention All-Mountain West
Derrick Marks, Jr., G, Boise State
Marvelle Harris, So., G, Fresno State
Cole Huff, So., F, Nevada
Hugh Greenwood, Jr., G, New Mexico
JJ O'Brien, Jr., F, San Diego State
Winston Shepard, So., F, San Diego State
Roscoe Smith, Jr., F, UNLV
Spencer Butterfield, Sr., G/F, Utah State
Jarred Shaw, Sr., C, Utah State
Player of the Year:
Xavier Thames, Sr., G, San Diego State
Defensive Player of the Year:
Khem Birch, Jr., F, UNLV
Newcomer of the Year:
Josh Davis, Sr., F, San Diego State
Freshman of the Year:
Paul Watson, Fr., G/F, Fresno State
Sixth Man of the Year:
Dwayne Polee II, Jr., F, San Diego State
Coach of the Year:
Steve Fisher, San Diego State
*Indicates number of previous All-Conference selections