Lobos Dominate Academic Awards
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/07/2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The University of New Mexico men’s basketball program has earned six academic all-conference selections from the Mountain West for the 2013-14 season. Obij Aget, Cameron Bairstow, Cullen Neal, Deshawn Delaney, Hugh Greenwood and Alex Kirk all garnered honors with Bairstow, Greenwood and Kirk repeating as academic all-conference award winners. New Mexico’s six honorees are the most in the Mountain West.

Not only did the Lobos’ six selections top the conference this year, but it was also tied for the second-most selections in MW history. The school record six academic all-conference Lobos trailed only BYU’s eight selections in 2006-07, tying the 2007-08 Utah Utes for second place in the MW record book.

For first-year members of the program Obij Aget, Cullen Neal and Deshawn Delaney, this marked their first-ever academic honor from the conference. It marked the third academic all-conference team selection for Bairstow, Greenwood and Kirk.

Cullen Neal has also been named a Mountain West Scholar-Athlete for the 2013-14 season. The freshman is one of just five players in the conference to receive the award, and he is just the second Lobo since the 2009-10 season to earn the honor.

The honors and accolades from the MW come on the heels of an eight-year high in the team’s grade point average and a APR score that puts New Mexico among the top ten percent in all college basketball programs.